Maryland Raises Minimum Wage

Maryland joined the parade of states raising the minimum wage to the magic number of $15 per hour when the state legislature voted to override the veto of Governor Larry Hogan on March 28, 2019. The minimum wage for employers with 15 or more employees will increase annually commencing January 1, 2020 until it reaches the $15 per hour level on January 1, 2025. The minimum wage for smaller employers will increase annually at a slower pace, and reach $15 on July 1, 2026. The initial increase for all employers effective January 1, 2020 raises the minimum wage to $11 per hour from the current $10.10. Continue reading

Maryland’s Healthy Working Families Act Requires Employers in the State to Provide Sick/Safe Leave

Executive Summary: On January 12, 2018, the Maryland Legislature overrode Governor Hogan’s 2017 veto of the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act (the “Act”). As a result, Maryland employers with 15 or more employees are now required to provide for up to 40 hours of paid sick leave on annual basis to eligible employees, and employers with 14 or fewer employees must provide up to 40 hours of unpaid sick/safe leave on an annual basis to eligible employees. In addition to the sick leave requirement, the Act imposes notification and recordkeeping requirements and sets out a significant enforcement scheme that includes the potential imposition of treble damage penalties for violations.

Continue reading